Annual Awards

Nassau County has a long history or recognizing the best players and coaches for each year. Below you can see the latest recipients and links to lists of the annual awards. You can also see reports by team.

Return to report list

Howdy Meyers Award
Defenseman of the Year

Howdy MyersThe Howdy Myers Award is given annually to the most outstanding defenseman in Nassau County as voted by the NCLCA.

The award is named after the late National Hall of Fame coach Howard “Howdy” Myers, who is considered by many to have been most responsible for the spread of lacrosse throughout Long Island during the 1950’s. Myers was already a Hall of Fame caliber coach when he became the Athletic Director, football, and lacrosse coach at Hofstra University, having coached St. Paul’s (Md.) High School and Johns Hopkins University, where he led the Blue Jays to consecutive national championships from 1947-1949.

Myers led Hofstra lacrosse for twenty-five years, compiling a record of 180-115-3. He won national coaching honors in 1970, and brought lacrosse to the forefront of Long Island scholastic sports by continually recruiting local high school talent for his squads.

His election to the Hall of Fame in 1971 while he was still coaching at Hofstra should give an indication of the respect Myers had earned both as a coach and innovator in the sport.

2023 Peter ThomannCalhounD/LSM
2022 Patrick PisanoCold Spring HarborDefense
2022 Brendan StaubGarden CityDefense
2021 Patrick PisanoCold Spring HarborDefense
2021 JoJo TodaroCareyDefense
2019 Kenny BrowerMassapequaDefense
2018 Colin HartGarden CityDefense
2017 Dylan GuarnieriCold Spring HarborDefense
2016 Joe LiCalziSouth SideDefense
2015 Eddie BouhallLynbrook Defense
2014 Eddie BouhallLynbrook Defense
2013 Eddie BlatzGarden CityDefense
2012 Bob DuvnjakManhassetDefense
2011 Bob DuvnjakManhassetDefense
2011 Bob EnrightMassapequaDefense
2010 Stephen JahelkaGarden CityDefense
2010 JoJo OstranderFarmingdaleDefense
2009 Brian FisherGarden CityDefense
2008 Keenan OchwatFarmingdaleDefense
2007 Kevin PiegereCold Spring HarborDefense
2006 Dylan D'AlessioCold Spring HarborDefense
2006 Kerry McCormickGarden CityDefense
2005 Chris PeyserManhassetDefense
2004 Chris PeyserManhassetDefense
2003 Steve PanarelliFarmingdaleDefense
2002 Glenn NickGarden CityDefense
2001 Tom GarveyGarden CityDefense
2000 Mickey BlumGarden CityDefense
1999 Michael HowleyWantaghDefense
1998 Matt McFarlandGarden CityDefense
1997 Brandon TestaBethpageDefense
1996 Jeff PsakiGarden CityDefense
1995 Lawrence GalliGarden CityDefense
1994 Kevin KohartGarden CityDefense
1993 Peter MurphyGarden CityDefense
1992 Peter MurphyGarden CityDefense
1991 Todd HigginsPort WashingtonDefense
1990 Todd HigginsPort WashingtonDefense
1989 Rob BurkeGarden CityDefense
1988 Tony BellomoPort WashingtonDefense
1987 Pat McCabeElmontDefense
1986 Peter SchwasnickOceansideDefense
1985 James DetommasoFarmingdaleDefense
1984 Rob SchuplerManhassetDefense
1983 Aaron JonesHempsteadDefense
1982 John DetommasoFarmingdaleDefense



Lacrosse is like one of those diseases that comes through the family and infects everybody. It caught every one of us.

Ted Wolford

Banner Space Available