Annual Awards

Nassau County has a long history or recognizing the best players and coaches for each year. Below you can see the latest recipients and links to lists of the annual awards. You can also see reports by team.

Return to report list

Bill Ritch Award
Attackman of the Year

Bill RitchThe Bill Ritch Award is given annually to the most outstanding high school attackman in Nassau County as voted by the NCLCA. Bill Ritch was the longtime coach at Sewanhaka High School, and is widely considered the first great coach in Nassau County lacrosse history.

Ritch began his lacrosse career as an All-American at Syracuse University in 1938 and 1940 and played in the first North-South All-Star game. He coached at Sewanhaka from 1948 to 1977, compiling an overall record of 360-75-1. His teams won 91 consecutive games, a scholastic record that still stands today, and were Metropolitan-Long Island champions from 1949 to 1959, a period of eleven straight years.

Ritch was named the Nassau Coach of the Year and National High School Lacrosse Coach of the Year in 1972 as well.

During his tenure, Ritch coached some of the greatest offensive players in Nassau history, including Jack Daut, John Valestra, Eamon McEneaney, Bob and Norm Engelke, and Francis McAleavey, as well as future coaches in Richie Moran (Cornell), Tom Hayes (Rutgers), and Jack Salerno (Elmont).

2023 Jake LewisCalhounAttack
2022 Henry HabermanPort WashingtonAttack
2021 Ray ConnorManhassetAttack
2019 Sam LuftiMassapequaAttack
2018 Kevin WinkoffCold Spring HarborAttack
2017 Ian LavianoCold Spring HarborAttack
2017 Brendan NichternMassapequaAttack
2016 Ryan TierneyMassapequaAttack
2015 Alex ConcannonSyossetAttack
2014 Will SandsFriends AcademyAttack
2013 Justin GuterdingGarden CityAttack
2012 Devin DwyerGarden CityAttack
2011 Joe LeonardHicksvilleAttack
2011 Sal TuttleFarmingdaleAttack
2010 Brandon ManganWantaghAttack
2009 Nick O'ReillySouth SideAttack
2008 Jeff CohenSyossetAttack
2008 Nick O'ReillySouth SideAttack
2007 Dean GibbonsGarden CityAttack
2006 Chris LubinSyossetAttack
2005 Gavin PetraccaManhassetAttack
2004 James DavisDivision AveAttack
2003 Greg CohenSyossetAttack
2002 Pat WalshWantaghAttack
2001 Pat WalshWantaghAttack
2000 Jason DonegerLynbrookAttack
1999 Adam DonegerLynbrookAttack
1998 B.J. PragerGarden CityAttack
1997 B.J. PragerGarden CityAttack
1996 Jay JalbertCold Spring HarborAttack
1995 Dan DenihanManhassetAttack
1994 Mike FerrucciGarden CityAttack
1993 Mike FerrucciGarden CityAttack
1992 Chris FlatleyBaldwinAttack
1991 Sean MillerGarden CityAttack
1990 Kevin LoweMineolaAttack
1989 Dave DonatelloLynbrookAttack
1988 Darren LoweMineolaAttack
1987 Matt PanettaElmontAttack
1986 Brian ForestaFarmingdaleAttack
1985 Steve WalakovitsBethpageAttack
1984 Sean DoughertyGarden CityAttack
1983 Thomas EngelkeSewanhakaAttack
1982 Gerard MarinoMassapequaAttack
1981 John KrumenackerFarmingdaleAttack



Whether you're big or small, there's a creative part for you in this sport. Find your strengths and roll with that.

Lyle Thompson

Banner Space Available